Well, it’s been a long time coming, but we finally have a winner of our very first Summer of Writing. Eleven writers submitted eighteen pieces of prose and poetry, fiction and non-fiction, light and heavy material, all in the good spirit of writing for the sake of writing, because we’re entirely without funds to give a prize, however much we wanted to. What we can give, though, is an experience, some encouragement, some competition and an interview.

I won’t claim to have loved everything that was written. Heck, I can’t remember them all too clearly. But I know when I loved pieces, and I know nothing was bad. It was just, when faced with the other pieces, they didn’t meet the judge’s mark. I was the judge. It was my mark. Personal opinion, and all that jazz. I hope that the writers will consider the publication of their work in the Literary Den magazine, which will go ahead if I can muster up the troops to helping organise it into something wonderful. Regardless, I want to thank the writers for all their hard work and the wonderful pieces they submitted.

This is the part where the title takes on some significance. So… as they say in the award shows, ‘And the winner is…’

Jay Star!

Jay topped the board twice (sharing first in one situation) and came second on another occasion, and even in silence for the other two challenges came out on top. In the very close position of second was Trevor Seery, whose volunteer work at festivals kept him from the Internet. In third was Conor Pender, who might have stood a chance at first place if he’d come back after the third challenge.

All the work I read from these writers and the others was so diverse that sometimes it felt cruel to award one writer more points than another. However, the decision has been made. When you see me next, or possibly the time after that, I’ll be interviewing Jay Star on writing and life and getting feedback on Summer of Writing.

Now, as I am all worn out I’ll leave it at that. Thank you, again, to all the writers who made this contest something to remember.

Mise le meas,
Paul.

