So, it’s been a while. Yes, it has.

Summer has been hectic, kinda crap, but busy. I have my heart firmly set on college now and I cannot wait until I start back. I was going to transfer into just law, but at the twelfth hour i decided to stick with my course. So i’m still going to be studying law with some economics on top of it, but economics isn’t that bad, i guess. Plus, I’ve been told it’s better to have a multi-disciplinary degree.

I’ve been thinking a lot about the leaving cert and offers lately. A lot of my friends will be starting college this year and it was interesting to see how they reacted to their results. Obviously, some were delighted and others were upset but the interesting crowd to me were the people who actually managed to convince themselves that they “could have” gotten 600 points if they had have been “bothered” to study. I’m sorry, but it really annoys me when people say “oh i could have gotten well over 500 points but I just didn’t study”. Well of course anyone can get 600 points if they study hard enough, it’s kinda how the entire system works. You study, and depending on how much you study and how hard you work you get a set amount of points reflecting said study. Fact.

Oh, I almost forgot. I’m driving! Yes, the roads of Dublin are no longer safe. I finally bit the bullet and bought a car and got my insurance sorted. It’s taken me two years but it’s done now. I was one of those people who got their provisional the day they turned 17, took lessons and then never drove. But now I do drive, a lot. I’ve noticed how little the police care about learner drivers. I drive a lot without a fully licensed driver, and have driven past the police about 20 times in the past week, and they just don’t care. But we knew that already.

So, that’s been my life. I’ve finished up working for the summer and I now have a car. I can’t wait until college starts back!! Also, I’m really excited about a show I’m going to see in a few weeks. “Spring Awakening” is coming to Ireland. It’s a multi-award winning musical and it better be amazing or i’ll be pissed!!!

Brendan McL

