For those of you who watch Glee, this term isn’t new; for the rest – Hairography is some people do to hide the fact that really they can’t sing. I’ve found, though, that the concept of that episode, distractions, works its way into this wonderful thing we call ‘real life’. This is especially true of my life right now, where distractions aren’t quite as few as I’d like.

Exam season has well and truly gotten underway. I have gotten through half of my exams (so I still have six left…), but I’m still getting distracted by a number of different things. Facebook isn’t quite as nice a website when there’s studying to be done, and work and other such things at the weekend result in things like this blog post being a day late. Do not be alarmed!  I am merely a human being with real human problems.

Poetry, for me, is a big distraction. Well, fiction too. I find that on my walks to college – they take about an hour, depending on how fast I walk – are filled with little lines of poetry I can’t do anything with, until later in the day or week, when something suddenly clicks into place, and ideas for stories start working themselves out when I have no time to write them down.

But distractions can be a good thing too. For those of you who read my own blog, you will see that I had quite an “eventful” day on Monday, and on Friday (though that wasn’t as positive as Monday…), in which we managed to do no work at all in the space of six hours studying. Yes, six hours studying and we did nothing. See, we found a distraction in the wonderfully rude Omegle.com. I won’t recommend that site to anyone who wishes to maintain their innocence; it’s full of filth, and on that day, some of that filth got a wake up call. I won’t go into the detail here (because most of it is too rude…) but you can read the exciting details here.

Distractions keep us from working properly, and as this post might suggest they can be both good and bad. It’s important to note which things are killing us and which ones actually help. Omegle.com – helpful for relieving stress. Internet games – helpful for wasting time. Now, like I said, I don’t recommend Omegle.com, but if you can find your own helpful distraction, I advise following it up, assuming you still have time to do what you intended to do. In the summer, the long summer ahead of me, I’ll be doing the same thing with my writing. My distractions, my proverbial hairography, will be the day-trips out with friends, the nights out to the pub, the craic, the ceol, the cinema, the life I never led in the past. And I’ll still write. I promise you that, right here, right now, I will write. And my God I will love every bit of it.

And that’s the point of this post – not to preach about not letting yourself get distracted, not to whine about not getting any work done, or having too much work to do, but to stress the importance of taking time out, of letting something distract you from the hardships of life, from all the work, even that you enjoy. It’s a refresher, an experience you won’t have had. I can honestly say everything is different since Monday. Heck, these past two weeks have provided many distractions that have brought me closer to a few friends. So, remember, when all your troubles get you down, just find a distraction. Go out with friends (though if you intend on drinking, make sure to pace yourself… especially if you have an exam the next morning… there won’t always be someone there to bail you out with a coffee! – speaking from experience here… being the one who bailed someone out!). Live your life, and when you’ve relieved yourself of some stress, get back to work.

Peace, Love and Potter,
Paul.

