Ok, so I’m sitting here at two in the morning and I’ve just realised that my blog is due tomorrow, or today – depends on how you look at it I suppose. Anyway, first of all, I know I’ve been absent from the den and the blog recently. College, lack of internet(which has now been resolved), and debs have sidetracked me. I’m back now…

You may have guessed, I am really struggling with what to write about, I can’t think of anything ‘writing’ related so I think I’ll just wing it and see what happens. Here I go.

There is something that I just can’t get my head around. It’s an event that happens to most irish teenagers after they have completed the leaving cert, secondary school, and are starting their lives. I mentioned it above(and it’s gonna be in the title of this blog I think so this paragraph has been sorta irreverent. Whoops) – The Debs!

Now, I think they’re pointless events. I just don’t get what all the fuss is about. Who decided that dressing up just to see your classmates was a good idea? All the guys end up looking like penguins

pinguinalulu-tux-the-batman-penguin-11703

…while the girls look like they fell out of a disney movie
13693Belle

Then you have to take into account all the extra expenses that at first you just don’t think about.

The corsage – Something that is necessary but dies before you get to the hotel

dead%20flower

The limo, expensive and tacky

limo

and then the most important aspect of the entire evening…….whether or not the guy’s tie/dickybow matches the girl’s dress

tux

then there’s the meeting of parents, friends, cousins, siblings and grandparents to take into account which is the most embarrasing, cringe-worthy hour anyone will ever experience. You knock on the door and walk into this scene…

family

I don’t know about anyone else, but i think it’s the most heart stopping, kill me now experience i have ever gone through.

So right now you would not be wrong in thinking i’m on an anti-debs buzz, but after three debs in the last week and a half i’m about ready to die. If i never wear another dickey bow until the day i die, i think i’ll be quite happy. But, at the same time, once you soldier your way through all the embarrassing, cringy moments when family meet and cameras attack you(smiling actually hurts the jaw after about a milion photos)…

files

…the nights can be sorta amazing! At the alexandra college debs we had to walk down a red carpet while the rest of the school looked on and judged us

red_carpet

…information my date failed to mention until we arrived at the school. i was terrified!

You go out, meet old friends or strangers and get drunk(although i think there’s an unwritten rule that means you can only get absolutely blotto if it’s your own debs, not if your invited to one. A rule i stuck too). I’m just a bit miffed cause i missed a lot of college over the last two weeks. But they were amazing nights. I just think that they are americanised, completely blown out of proportion events. And very very expensive. I think my dad actually hates me at the minute because he’s after becoming my personal ATM.

So, i have really rambled on and i’m not sure if what i have written has made much sense but it’s the best i could come up with. I want to know what everyone else thinks about the whole “debs” extravaganza. Do tell…?

